Book Club: Decorating in Detail Reviews

Decorating in Detail

Before I got this book, I knew very little about Alexa Hampton. I knew her name and I knew she is one of the top designers. I wasn’t very familiar with her work, but now I am determined to be. There’s a reason why she’s known for what she does. She knows what she’s talking about! If you need several more reasons, she has very good taste and she learned from the best: Mark Hampton, her father. I’ll need to read his book written by his wife.

Mark Hampton: An American Decorator

This book was an eye-opener for me. I knew you had to pay attention to details when you work on a room, but Alexa takes it to a new level for me.

Decorating in Detail: Alexa Hampton: 9780307956859: Amazon.com: Books

I love this corner of the house. The chairs are fun and I love that the dark cabinet grounds this room. What I learned was that these chairs are “the signature loops of Frances Elkins’ iconic chairs.” I enjoy learning the names of furnitures, but I expect it will be some time before I have it all memorized. However, the detail of this room that I had not noticed before that Alexa shared with us was that the loops in the chairs are similar to the loops in the curtain. I think the loops also play off the curvy piece at the center of the table surrounded by books. If you know what it is, please let me know because I don’t know exactly what it is. I just know it’s neat.

I love the warm rattan and natural fiber rug with cool blues and gray. (There is more gray in the rest of the room.) Alexa Hampton, Decorating In DetailI'm currently reading this book.  Love Alexa's takeaways! It's clear why she's one of the best in the business! Decorating in Detail: Alexa Hampton: 9780307956859: Amazon.com: Books

The details and textures in this living room is amazing! Sorry that the pictures don’t line up exactly. It was spread across two pages. A sisal rug is always good for texture. The variation in blues and the furnitures keeps this room from being too monochromatic and actually creates interests.

Here’s a few more of my favorite pictures from the book(or at least the same angle of the room as in the book.)

image

(Photo via Cote De Texas)

(Photo via The Zhush)

Alexa Hampton

Are you noticing yet that most of my favorite rooms have blues in it? (Photo via Amanda Carol Interiors)

Loving the quatrefoil chair! Another one that I learned! (Photo via The Zhush)

I have to agree with the author of Pigtown Designs. As an interior designer wannabe, the fact that Alexa takes a sharpie and draws on a picture of the room to plan a layout is intriguing to me.

I am definitely going to have to pick up The Language of Interior Design. I can only imagine what an honor and privilege it must be to work with and for Alexa Hampton. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

One comment

What's on your mind?

