Dream Home Inspiration: Dark vs Light Bedroom

Who doesn’t love a bright and cheerful bedroom? I would think it would be more motivating to wake up to and get out of bed. But I can’t imagine anything more cozier than a dark bedroom when going to bed at night or in the colder weather. I’m constantly back and forth on which way I would like to go when we get a house, so I decided to do a little round up to see if it sways me one way or the other.

For the master bedroom curtains and bedcover, a Rose Tarlow print, Sea Leaves, "strikes the right balance between femininity and masculinity," Thomas says. They hang from custom Morgik metal rods. Shams and linens, Hillary Thomas Designs.
Via House Beautiful

Via The Decorista
A lovely floral scheme for the bedroom. Discover bedroom design ideas on HOUSE - design, food and travel by House & Garden.
Via House & Garden UK
William McLure
Via Beneath My Heart
Bedroom. Master Bedroom Ideas. Classy and rustic master bedroom design. Floor-to-ceiling draperies close behind the camel-backed gray upholstered headboard. Chandelier is the Marigot Eight Light Chandelier from Circa Lighting.  The master bedroom mixes rustic finishes with tailored decor. I love this look!  The bed, a 54-inch-high camel-back upholstered king bed, was custom designed by Douglass Workroom.  Long lumbar pillow on bed  is the “Valence”/Dove #11158-01 from Cowtan & Tout.  Bedding is by Donna Karan Collection. #Bedroom #MasterBedroom #MasterBedroomDesign #MasterBedroomIdeas #MasterBedroomDecor
Via Home Bunch
master bedroom, calming, one room challenge, bamboo, monogram, art
Style Your Senses
The son's room is a spin on menswear, with Ralph Lauren's Burke wool, from Kravet, on Hickory Chair's Chelsea bed.
Via House Beautiful
Beautiful headboard, lovely wall paper that strengthens the energy of the bed in…:
Fawn Galli
Via Apartment Therapy
Via Apartment Therapy
leather headboard and dark blue wall.:
Via The Inspired Room
Coastal beach house bedroom with ocean view
Via Our Boat House
navy + zebraVIA
Via The Aestate
Ceiling Design Ideas
Via Shelterness

Are you swayed one way or the other? I think I’m more drawn to the lighter bedrooms, particularly because I think I would feel more motivated in the morning to accomplish things. A darker room makes me feel cocooned and cozy and more than likely to make me reluctant to go to gym. No? Just me? Ah, well. I still want to try experimenting with a dark room. Maybe even the master bedroom. No, maybe not yet. Jon would kill me. He feels that strongly about it. Maybe a dining room- could do something there to set up a pub vibe. I love going to pubs as oppose to bars. You go to bars to get a little crazy. You go to pubs to enjoy your drinks. And sometimes there’s food. Anyway, another thing that I like about dark bedrooms is that it has a little more of a romantic, sexy vibe and I like that in bedrooms. (This song is totally playing in my head right now: “I like big butts and I cannot lie.”) I feel like I’ve just about talked myself back into a dark room, but I know I’ll still stick with a lighter room. At least at first, but never know. I might actually do a blend of both.

What's on your mind?

