The Magic of Fall

autumn leaves, very shallow focus
Via Babble

Have I formally announced how much I love fall? I love the crispness in the air more than anything. It makes me feel alive. I love the changing of the leaves. It adds romance to the air. It serves as a reminder of change. Summer feels too much like the same day everyday, but you can see the change in the world when fall arrives. The days get shorter. The bugs are gone. The leaves change colors. It was always my favorite time of the year to ride horses. I could enjoy the view and the company. I could enjoy the sound of the leaves crackling underfoot. It makes more sense during this time of the year and through the winter to light candles and enjoy not only its scent but its light. And I enjoy hot drinks more. More tea, more hot chocolate, and- dare I say it?- more coffee.

Autumn has arrived 🍁#autumn #fall #poetry #poetrycommunity #poetsofinstagram #writing #writersofinstagram #art #columbus #columbusartist #raquelfranco #wordsbyraquel
Via Raquel Franco Tumblr

This is getting off topic a little bit, but this quote by Raquel Fanco makes me think of the Ice Queen. Why is there not a story on Autumn? I once wrote a short story on the Ice Queen, but could never bring myself to write about her sisters. Maybe I could not see their story as clearly I had seen the Ice Queen’s.

I Sleep With Jello Tumblr
Via Mix and Match Mama
“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”Ralph Waldo Emerson
Via Dying of Cute Tumblr

Anyway, I seriously need a home in the mountains. That’s where I feel the most effect of fall. It’s definitely the best place to see the colorful leaves. I can’t really speak about if it’s better than just being somewhere in the northeast or not, seeing as I haven’t been in the northeast during fall. But I’m counting down the days until I can get back into the mountains.

Do you guys have a favorite retreat you go to when it’s fall?

7 thoughts on “The Magic of Fall

What's on your mind?

