Making an Entrance

Via Domino

Every home needs a good entryway- a fantastic welcoming spot as soon as you walk through the front door. It needs to be a well-rounded spot. Not only does it need to be personalized to you (as a place to drop off keys, mails or to kick off your shoes, whatever it is you do at the front door), it needs to make your guests feel welcomed. It needs to give them hints as to who you are and of what the rest of the house will be like.

Much like a powder room, it’s a great spot from a design perspective to get a little dramatic. Some people have a little room or a hallway as an entry way. Have some fun with it. It’s a spot where you very briefly spend some time, so go ahead and put up that oversized flower wallpaper to show off your dramatic side.

I have a nice long entry hallway that opens up to the living room. As I can sit on my sofa and see into the hallway, I don’t want to do anything too dramatic like that oversized flower wallpaper. Did I just sound like a hypocrite? I only meant that I’m not an overly dramatic person, but maybe you are.

Oversized flower wallpaper or not, whether hubby allows it or not, I’ve rounded up a few inspirational ideas:

w140930_stanton_madison_egd_006
Via Elements of Style

I’m in love with everything about this entry, but my entry isn’t blue like this. However, I love the idea of two ginormous art prints stacked upon each other like this. That adds drama!

Stairway Gallery Wall
Via Completely Coastal

While it’s not my style, I do love a good collection. I don’t know about you, but it peaks my interest, particularly when it’s right there by the front door.

Via 11 Magnolia Lane

You can never go wrong with a classic look like this: a dresser topped with two beautiful lamps and a mirror to check yourself out as you’re leaving. And then plus a few accessories, of course.

Via House of Turquoise

For as much as I love color, is it weird that I’m oddly obsessed with this entry way? I love the door in blue- mine is more of an aqua turquoise. I love these older dressers with character to them, though I personally might not pick one out quite as distressed. Plus the fact that it’s paired with that amazing star pendant, which reflects the shape in the dresser and the floor pattern. That rattan chair is perfect for kicking off shoes.

Photo by Emily Followill:
Via Atlanta Homes/Lisa Mende Design

Although this is technically a mudroom in a showhouse in Atlanta from last fall, it’s still a place of entry. This is a great selection of colors to bring a smile to your face when you get home. It’s also an excellent play upon “there’s no place like home” by bringing Dorthy into the picture. There’s plenty of seating to stop and take off your shoes and a couple of tables to drop off your keys and purse and leave the long day behind you.

bachman-brown-clem-entry
Via Chinoiserie Chic

I love unexpected trim colors. It’s such a cool way to be a little different and add in some dosage of color where you normally might not want something quite as strong. Much like I did in my own house with Sherwin William’s Storm Clouds.

blue-door-entry-mediterranean-4010301
Via Coastal Living

Sometimes something like a themed entry creates the best drama! This one, for instance, has a formal beachy, but laid back tropical theme.

b1adc43fa47955b4e46023726567636e
Via Studio McGee

I’ve been thinking of also doing something simple like this: a bench with a couple of pillows grouped with a piece of art or two over it. I have a bench now that I use in the living room, but it might be a little too wide. It would also probably just be something that I would need to try living with for a couple of days.

How do you guys have your entry set up? Let me know if you have any ideas for me. In case you missed it, you can see the entry hallway here.

What's on your mind?

