Looking Less At My Phone

Doing things that makes me look less at my phone is something that I’m constantly striving to achieve. It’s what I’ve been doing a little bit this week, so apologizes for this delayed post.

Somewhere along the way, I started getting caught up on the things that happen on my phone, such as reading blogs, Pinterest, Facebook, emails, and so on. Life definitely happens beyond my phone. I used to be next to impossible to reach because I never looked at my phone, therefore never answering all these poor people trying to reach me. There is something simple and almost romantic in leading a life without being super attached to my phone.

I love to read. I have a hard time putting my phone down because I love to read blogs. To me, reading blogs is not a time waster like Facebook or Instagram. When you follow the good ones, you learn from them or they’re thought provoking, or they’re entertaining. Whatever the reason for following blogs, you’re still engaging your brain, just not necessarily at the level of reading a novel. But still, I’m looking at my phone.

A few of the things I love to do that makes me forget to look at my phone is reading a good book (I’m reading one now, but it’s a thick novel and taking a little time to get through it- Island in the Sea of Time by S.M. Stirling.), cooking (We made Shrimp Alfredo Pasta Bake tonight. I thought it turned out pretty good, but I know my husband thinks it could use less tomatoes.), taking the dogs for a walk, doing yard work, and sitting down to have a conversation with my husband.

What are some of your favorite things to do to look less at your phone?

One comment

What's on your mind?