My Muse: Houses

It’s getting real,  y’all. House hunting is about to seriously happen and I’m dreaming of houses.

None of these are by any means exactly what I’m looking for or will be getting, but because they’re inspiring. And unfortunately, these lovely classic Charleston homes (see photo above for an example) are way too far out of my price range.

 mountain cabin wedding venue in Washington state, photo by Jess Hunter, intimate Seattle mountain wedding photographer, intimate forest wedding in the Pacific Northwest, Washington state elopement photographer

Jess Hunter Photo

homes for sale in pope high school district

Hank Miller Team

Via BHG

art deco

Via La Dolce Vita

Oprah's Hawaiian home

Oprah

I’m definitely dreaming with this last house: Oprah’s Hawaiian house with a horse on the premises. To get property big enough to have horses on it, I’d have to be willing to drive to work for longer than 30 minutes- without the rush hour traffic- which I’m not prepared to do. With rush hour traffic, it can take me up to an hour to get home on some days.

We’re not going to get a super modern home. That’s just not my style. And it’s not Charleston’s style. A lot of homes in the Charleston area are pretty traditional- even some of the cookie cutter ones are a little bit traditional. Speaking of cookie cutter homes, that’s one type that I’m going to avoid- the ones where all the homes look exactly alike. It’s a little bit better if it’s in an older neighborhood where trees and plants have had time to mature and add some distinction to the area.

How long did it take you to find the right house for you, if you’re a homeowner?

4 comments

  1. CONGRATS! Can’t wait to see what you do get. Love these inspirations though as well. We have similar taste. But now mine is for a ranch style home with property (near a lake or river)… ah to dream. 🙂

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?